Skip to main content

Newspaper Collections

A guide to digital, rare and Los Angeles newspaper collections at The Huntington.

Los Angeles Newspaper Collections

Large crowd (hundreds, perhaps thousands) is gathered in streets and sidewalks around 1st & Spring in a shot taken from fairly high in City Hall. The Times Building is brightly lit.The Huntington holds specimen newspapers and partial runs of historical newspapers published in and around Los Angeles, including newspapers published in languages other than English.

Lozano family / La Opinión collection, 1875-2006
This collection consists of personal and business correspondence of La Opinión's founder, Ignacio Eugenio Lozano, Sr. and his family. In addition to the correspondence, there are manuscripts and documents relating to La Prensa and La Opinión, financial and legal documents, ephemera, bound newspaper volumes and photographs. La Opinión is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the six counties of Southern California. It is the largest Spanish-language newspaper in the United States and second-most read newspaper in Los Angeles (after The Los Angeles Times).
Call number: mssLOP 1-1380

Los Angeles Times records, 1869-2002
Originally maintained at the Los Angeles Times History Center, this collection contains records related to the business life of the Los Angeles Times and its owners--both corporate and personal. The records include accounting forms, legal documents, correspondence, directories, memoranda, reprints of articles, supplements to the newspaper, manuscripts, oral history transcripts, ephemera, newspaper clippings and objects. The collection includes a significant amount of audio-visual material, including photographs, film and audiotapes. There is also a small sampling of printed newspapers.
Call number: mssLAT

Related Collections:

Al Martínez papers, 1920-2006
Al Martínez worked at the Oakland Tribune as a columnist, feature writer and military writer from 1955 to 1971. In 1972 he moved with his family to Southern California, taking a job at the Los Angeles Times. Martínez wrote for the Times until 2009, first as a reporter, then becoming a full-time feature columnist in 1984.
Call number: mssMZ 1-922

Jack Smith papers, 1925-2004
Jack Clifford Smith was a journalist and author who began his career in Bakersfield in 1937. Smith was a reporter for several newspapers before coming to the Los Angeles Times as a reporter in 1953; he became a columnist in 1958 until his death on January 9, 1996.
Call number: mssSmith, Jack papers

Paul Conrad papers, 1950-2005
Paul Conrad served as chief editorial cartoonist for the Los Angeles Times from 1964 to 1993. His career began at the Denver Post in 1950 where he drew until moving to the Los Angeles Times. Conrad won three Pulitzer Prizes (1964, 1971 and 1984) and numerous other journalism awards.
Call number: mssCON 1-12360

Image credit: "Large crowd (hundreds, perhaps thousands) is gathered in streets and sidewalks around 1st & Spring in a shot taken from fairly high in City Hall. The Times Building is brightly lit," October 10, 1936. LAT 03274. Los Angeles Times Records. The collection was transferred to The Huntington by the Los Angeles Times in July 2003. The Huntington Library provides access to and stewardship of the collection, which is owned by the Los Angeles Times.

Additional Newspapers

View additional newspapers published in and around Los Angeles in the library catalog, organized by subject: