Skip to main content

Newspaper Collections

A guide to digital, rare and Los Angeles newspaper collections at The Huntington.

Additional Resources

Search for Huntington collection materials:

Access digital collections:‚Äč

  • Databases: Access databases related to newspapers.

Subscription Databases

A list of databases related to newspapers that The Huntington subscribes to can be found below. Subscription databases are only available to registered readers. Current readers can log in to subscription databases using their My Library Account.

17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of "news" and "newspapers" and the "free press," totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections.

Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
From its earliest beginnings when it urged African-Americans to not "spend your money where you can't work," the Los Angeles Sentinel has exposed prejudice, promoted social change and empowered the black community. The Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Known as "America's newspaper" for more than a century, The New York Times has commanded international readership. The world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper for more than 150 years are available online from ProQuest. The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Newspapers.com - World Collection
Provides access to nearly 15,000 historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com - World Collection contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Open-access resources

California Digital Newspaper Collection
A freely accessible database containing digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present. The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.

Google Newspapers
Although no longer maintained since 2011, Google's News Archive scanned nearly a million pages from 2,000 international newspapers that are easily browsable and searchable.

Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789 to 1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.