Skip to Main Content

History of Medicine

A guide to The Huntington's collections in the history of medicine.

Additional Resources

Digital Resources:

  • Hathi Trust Digital Library: Access digitized Huntington Library publications.
  • History of Medicine and Allied Sciences on the Huntington Digital Library: Materials from The Huntington's larger holdings of printed materials and manuscripts. Highlights include astrological miscellanies and medical recipe books from the Middle Ages, in addition to selected rare books and broadsides from The Huntington's collection of medical incunabula—the largest outside of Europe and the United Kingdom.
  • Databases: Access databases related to the history of science, medicine and technology. Subscription databases can only be accessed by active readers. Contact the library for more info.

There is considerable overlap between the history of medicine collections and the history of science and technology collections, but researchers are also likely to find materials related to the history of medicine throughout The Huntington's collections (e.g., British History, Western American History, etc.).

Other guides can be paged in-person from the Ahmanson Reading Room. On-site readers may find it useful to consult the several card catalogs, especially for manuscript material.

Related Research Guides

Huntington Incunabula in the Digital Era
‚ÄčA guide to the virtual presentation.

Incunabula
A guide to The Huntington's books printed in Europe before 1501.

Medieval Manuscripts
A guide to The Huntington's medieval manuscripts.