Skip to Main Content

History of Medicine

A guide to The Huntington's collections in the history of medicine.

Photograph collections related to the history of medicine

Group of nurses at the Pasadena Hospital, 749 Fairmont, Pasadena. 1927.Davidson's Views of the Pacific Northwest, ca. 1878
Boudoir cards with scenes on or near the Northern Pacific Railroad's Pend d'Oreille Division and Clark's Fork Division in Oregon, as well as scenes on the lines of the Oregon Railway and Navigation Co. along the Columbia River. Includes field hospital and druggist's camp tent (with jars of medicine) for railway workers.
Call number: photCL 427

Photograph album of patients in Hospital Sainte-Anne, Paris, ca. 1897
A photograph album depicting female patients with psychiatric disorders at the Hospital Sainte-Anne in Paris, ca.1897. Almost all the patients are identified by first name in a legible hand. Most of the portraits appear to be made by an amateur and were taken outdoors. Some of the medical disorders represented include paranoia, melancholia, catatonia and mania. There are also some photographs of the facility and grounds.
Call number: photCL 575

Los Angeles County Medical Association (LACMA), ca. 1880-1930
The Los Angeles County Medical Association, formed in 1871, is a professional institution designed to regulate and encourage the development of medicine in Los Angeles. The photograph collection includes portraits of members, medical personnel, buildings, medical facilities, equipment and the following three albums:

1) USC School of Medicine, Los Angeles, first post-graduate class, Summer, 1900.

2) California Hospital, Los Angeles. Personnel (doctors and nurses), 1908. Includes original photograph of Leon Czolzosz with Bertillon measurements from the Detective Bureau, Police Dept. of Buffalo, NY, Sept. 6, 1901.

3) French doctors of the second half of the 19th century (portraits).

Call number: photCL 495

Los Angeles County Medical Association Printed Materials Collection, 1856-1989
The association's print collection contains publications and other printed items related to hospitals, medicine, medical education and public health, chiefly in Southern California in the 20th century.
Call number: 644034

Harold A. Parker Studio Collection of Negatives
The Harold A. Parker Studio Collection of Negatives consists of 5,157 glass plate negatives, film negatives and panoramic negatives spanning 1889-1949 that depict commercial, residential and landscape sites in and around Pasadena and Southern California. This collection includes photographs of medical personnel, equipment and details of caring for patients in Pasadena hospitals, ca. 1919-1927.
Call number: photCL 402

Photograph album of United States Army Soldiers in Panama, the Panama Canal Zone, and Hawaii, ca. 1925-1929
Photograph album containing over 400 photographs depicting United States Army soldiers in Hawaii and Panama in the late 1920s. Includes a significant group of photographs of Schofield Barracks Hospital on Oahu.
Call number: photCL 512

Los Angeles County Department of Health Services Collection, 1930-1932
The collection covers a range of departmental activities from approximately 1930 through 1932. Seven volumes of photographs include the following subjects: The Habitations of Unemployed in Los Angeles County, 1932; Activities of the Bureau of Inspection, 1932; Sewage Disposal Methods in Los Angeles County; Picture Story of Milk in Los Angeles County; Olympic Village, Los Angeles, 1932; and Miscellaneous Scenes of Los Angeles County Department of Health Activities.
Call number: photCL 396 

"Dick" Whittington Studio Collection of Negatives and Photographs
This collection consists of 70 panoramic negatives, 3,207 copy prints, and corresponding negatives and interpositives, spanning 1924-1948, that were created by the "Dick" Whittington Studio of Los Angeles. The images depict specific places, businesses and commercial activity in both central and southern California, with the emphasis on Los Angeles County. Of particular interest to history of medicine researchers is box 8, which includes World War II medical efforts from 1943.
Call number: photCL Whitt


Image credit: Group of nurses at the Pasadena Hospital, 749 Fairmont, Pasadena, 1927. photCL 402 (29608). Harold A. Parker Studio Collection of Negatives. Donated by Donald Parker, 1999.