Related material at The Huntington:
Richard Courtney papers:
A former Superior Court archives employee, Richard Courtney, gifted some material of court history to The Huntington Library in 1983. The gift was cataloged as the Richard Courtney papers. When the LAACR collection was transferred to The Huntington, library staff recognized that the donated Courtney documents supplemented the court records. The finding aid for the LAACR collection notes when a court item is in the Richard Courtney papers.
Call number: Contact the library to access LAACR material in the Richard Courtney papers.
Related material elsewhere:
Los Angeles County Archives and Records Center
As previously mentioned, The Huntington Library holds case files for 1850 – 1910 only. Researchers should contact the Los Angeles County Archives and Records Center for general jurisdiction court cases filed in Los Angeles County. Cases held by Archives and Record Center include Civil, Family Law, Criminal Felony, Probate, and Juvenile records for the majority of cases filed from 1910 – 2004. For further information on available services, contact the County Archives and Records center:
Location: 222 N. Hill St., Room 212, Los Angeles, 90012
Phone: (213) 830-0198
Phone Hours: 8:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m; 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
N.B. This is the only phone number available to the public for County Archives and Records center.
The Seaver Center for Western History Research, Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
The Seaver Center holds Los Angeles area court records for civil, criminal and probate courts, dated between 1830 – 1863, with one item from 1882. The collection includes the first minutes book of the County Board of Supervisors, dated 1852, and most criminal court cases filed in 1850. The collection number and name is: GC 1164, Alcalde/L.A. County Court Records, 1830 – 1863. A finding aid is available online. See also the finding aid for the Seaver's collection of Los Angeles County Government records. For further information, contact The Seaver Center.
Downey Historical Society
The Historical Society for the city of Downey, California, has transcribed related civil and criminal registers from the Downey Judicial District for 1871 – 1894. For further information, contact the Downey Historical Society.