Skip to Main Content

Indigenous Mexican Imprints

A bibliography of The Huntington's pre-1900 Mexican imprints, containing the languages Nahuatl, Otomi, Zapotec, Huastec and Rarámuri (Tarahumara)

Below are entries for religious works in Indigenous languages printed in Mexico from the 16th century to 1900. Most studies concern Nahuatl; works titled "Mexicana" treat this language. Some imprints are a combination of linguistic study (e.g., a lexicon) and devotional, liturgical works.

Religious Works in Indigenous Languages, 16th Century to 1900

Tractado, de que se deuen administrar los sacramentos de la sancta eucharistia, y extrema vnction ...
Call number: 106398
Language: Likely Spanish.

Doctrina Christiana muy cumplida ...
​Call number: 106407
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

[Sermonario en Lengua Mexicana, donde se contiene (por el orden del Misal nuevo Romano) dos Sermones en todas las Dominicas y Festividades principales de todo el año, y otro en las Fiestas de los Santos, con sus Vidas, y Comunes ...]
Call number: 299527
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Arte de la lengua névome, que se dice pima, propia de Sonora ...
Call number: 318951
Language: Névome (Pima)
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.
N.B. Father Eusebio Kino, S. J. (1645-1711), is the supposed author.

Show more

Arte de la lengua mexicana, y breves platicas de los mysterios de n. santa fee catholica, y otras para exortacion de su obligacion á los Indios
Call number: 9791
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Aduertencias. Para los confessores de los Naturales
Call number: 106319 v. 1-2; see also call number 44480 (volume 1 only).
Language: Some sections in Nahuatl.
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Confessionario en lengua Mexicana y Castellana ...
Call number: 106318
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Clara y sucinta exposicion del pequeño catecismo impreso en el idioma mexicano siguiendo el orden mismo de sus preguntas y respuestas para la mejor instruccion de los feligreses indios, y de los que comienzan á aprender dicho idioma.
Call number: 7246
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Doctrina cristiana: mas cierta y v[er]dadera p[ar]a ge[n]te sin erudicio[n] y letras ...
Call number: 8973
Language: Likely Spanish only.

Dotrina christiana en le[n]gua Española y Mexicana ...
Call number: 106426
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.
N.B. The digital version displays the 1550 printing.

El evangelio de S. Lucas, del latin al mexicano o major nahuatl
Call number: 40479
Language: Translated from Latin to Nahuatl.
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Doctrina en lengua misteca ...
Call number: 106301; see also call number 106393.
Digital version available online through the Universidad de las Américas Puebla.

Doctrina [Crist]iana en le[n]gua Mexicana
Call number: 106310
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Colloquios de la paz, y tranquilidad Christiana, en lengua Mexicana
Call number: 106400
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes.

Dialogo de doctrina Christiana, en la lengua d[e] Mechuaca[m]
Call number: 144978
Language: Spanish and Tarascan
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Thesoro spiritual de pobres en le[n]gua de Michuaca[n] ...
Call number: 106395
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Camino del cielo en Lengva Mexicana ...
Call number: 270759
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Catecismo y declaracion de la doctrina cristiana en lengua otomí ...
Call number: 5608
Language: Otomi
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Primera parte del sermonario, dominical, y sanctoral, en lengua mexicana ...
Call number: 490928
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Promptuario manual mexicano ...
Call number: 146086
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Cathecismo Romano, Traducido En Castellano, Y Mexicano, Por El P.F. Manvel Perez, Del Orden De N.P.S. Agvstin. Hijo de la Santa Provincia del Santissimo Nombre de Jesus de la Nueva-España ...
Call number: 9851
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Farol indiano, y gvia de curas de indios : Summa de los cinco sacramentos que administran los ministros evangelicos en esta America ...
Call number: 11018
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.
N.B. Bound with Pérez's Arte de el idioma mexicano, bought in the Halsey sale in 1919.

Catecismo mexicano: que contiene toda la doctrina christiana con todas sus declaraciones ...
Call number: 146034
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Psalmodia christiana, y sermonario de los sanctos del año, en lengua mexicana ...
Call number: 106392
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Noticia de la lengua huasteca ...
Call number: 147604
Digital version available online through Google Books.

Arte de lengva mexicana, compuesto por el bachiller d. Antonio Vasquez Gastelu, el rey de Figueroa ...
Call number: 44834. See also call number: 133979.
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through Google Books.
N.B. The digital version displays the 1693 printing.

Breve practica, y regimen del confessonario de indios, en mexicano y castellano ...
Call number: 146566
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through Biblioteca AECID.

Arte de lengva mexicana, dispvesto por orden, y mandato de N. Rmo P. Fr. Francisco Treviño ...
Call number: 44689
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Show less