Skip to Main Content

Indigenous Mexican Imprints

A bibliography of The Huntington's pre-1900 Mexican imprints, containing the languages Nahuatl, Otomi, Zapotec, Huastec and Rarámuri (Tarahumara)

Below are entries for works on Indigenous languages dating from colonial Mexico from the 16th century to 1821. Most studies concern Nahuatl; works titled "Mexicana" treat this language.

Linguistic Studies of Indigenous Languages from Colonial Mexico (New Spain), 16th Century to 1821

Vocabvlario manual de las lengvas castellana, y mexicana ...
Call number: 496412
Language: Spanish and Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

Arte de la lengva mexicana con la declaracion de los adverbios della ...
Call Number: 89282
Language: Text in Spanish, examples in Nahuatl.
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Compendio del arte de la lengua mexicana
Call number: 114086
Language: Text in Spanish, examples in Nahuatl.
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Arte en lengua zapoteca
Call number: 106306
Language: Text in Spanish and Zapotec throughout. Includes Zapotec grammar, instructions on arithmetic, the calendar and "Cosas notables."
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Show more

Aqui comiença vn vocabulario en la lengua castellana y mexicana
Call number: 106305
Language: Spanish and Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Arte de la lengua mexicana y castellana
Call number: 9307
Language: Spanish and Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Vocabulario en lengua castellana y mexicana
Call number: 145099
Language: Spanish and Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Reglas de orthographia, diccionario, y arte del idioma othomi
Call number: 147603
Language: Otomi
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Arte de el idioma mexicano ...
Call number: 11019
Language: Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.
N.B. Bound with Pérez's Farol indiano, y gvia de curas de indios ...

Arte mexicana
Call number 106401
Language: Spanish and Nahuatl
Digital version available online through the Internet Archive.

Show less