Using the Library

Special Collections

Special collections materials remain on hold for up to two weeks after the date of their last check-out. 

Review "My Requests" in your Aeon account for a record of your holds and checkout history in the Special Collections Reading Room.

General Collections

To save your general collections reading history, create a My Library account. My Library requires researchers to "opt-in" to save their checkout activity. Please see the My Library guide for details on opting in.

General collections materials can be checked out for 4 months. If your library card is not renewed within 90 days of its expiration, general collection materials held in the Rothenberg Reading Room will be returned. 

Personal items left in the reading rooms and library spaces after closing will be brought to the Huntington's Lost and Found. You can retrieve lost items from the Reception Window in the Admissions Courtyard, next to the Red Car Coffee Shop (see Building C on the Map of the Grounds).

The Huntington Library is not responsible for any lost or damaged personal property, including electronic devices.

Library cards are renewed in person by appointment. To book a library orientation, please visit the Library Orientation calendar.

Renewing readers must update their Aeon account to reflect their current research goals and specify the items/collections that support their research. Visit the FAQ page for further details.

Library staff is available to consult with you at every stage of the research process. For help conducting remote research, you may:

• Visit our Ask a Librarian page to send us your research questions or review FAQs.
• Book a Virtual Reading Room appointment to remotely continue your research with Special Collections.
• Request copies for publication or reference through Imaging Services - reproduction fees apply. See our Imaging Services guide for details. 
• Review the Library directory to contact curators and staff.

Researchers may also access digital resources at home.

• Summon Discovery simultaneously searches the Library's databases, such as the library catalog, digital Library, electronic journals, and more.
• Search the Huntington's classic catalog for rare books, manuscripts, visual materials, and secondary sources.
• The Library's A-Z database list includes open access or subscription-based resources (active library cards are required for subscription access).
• Huntington Research guides center on the Library's 14 intersecting collection strengths.
• The Huntington Digital Library (HDL) holds over 250,000 images of the Library's holdings and aims to support and share resources with the broader research community. New content is regularly added.
• The Online Archive of California hosts hundreds of the Huntington's archival collection finding aids.
• California Revealed hosts selected audiovisual materials from the Huntington's archives.
• The HathiTrust Digital Library contains open-access Huntington Library Press publications available for reading and download.

Not sure who to contact or where to start again? Email reference@huntington.org, and the Library will direct your questions to the appropriate contact.

Let's stay connected! Subscribe to the Reader Services email newsletter for the latest on Library programs, collections and resources – delivered right to your inbox. When you subscribe, you'll receive the Reader Services monthly newsletter and occasional updates on Library news and events.

Important notice: Due to updated security protocols with several email providers, previous Reader Services newsletters may have routed to your Spam/Junk mail folder. 

The Huntington has updated our email security settings; however, some email providers may still identify our messages as spam. To ensure future delivery, please mark messages sent from readerservices@huntington.org as Safe.