Skip to main content

Imaging Services

Learn how to place an image order at The Huntington Library.

The Huntington Library provides reproductions of material to both readers and the public. Orders for reproductions are filled by The Huntington's Imaging Services department and should be placed through Aeon, our library's request system.

While library closure has limited the full scope of services we can provide, we understand the importance of digital access to the collections for remote research. We currently offer the following services to all researchers:

  • Up to 100 PDF scans per request
  • Publishing-resolution and high-resolution reproductions
  • Microfilm to PDF conversions
  • Digital prints
  • Payment by credit card is preferred
  • Delivery in about 15 business days after payment is received
  • All requests are subject to extended delivery time.

Due to limited on-site staffing and resources during the closure, we cannot offer:

  • Rush and Super Rush orders
  • Requests for new photography of restricted material(s)
  • Payment by check

In addition to Imaging Services, currently digitized materials can be accessed and downloaded for free through the Huntington Digital Library. To download, click the download button to the right of the image and select the desired image size from the drop-down menu.

N.B. Rare materials with the status "NOT AVAILABLE" are closed and unavailable for reproductions until processed by the library's cataloging department. Please contact us for more information.

How to Request Imaging Services with Aeon

Rare materials with the status "RARE – PAGE AEON" may be requested for imaging through the online catalog record.

1) Create an online account through our online request system, Aeon. Remote researchers should select "Imaging Services only" from the access type drop-down menu.

Imaging Services only

2) In the item catalog record, click on the "Request item via Aeon" button.

Request item via Aeon link in library catalog record.

3) Log in to your Aeon account when prompted.

4) The Imaging Services request form should open in Aeon and auto-populate with information from the catalog. Make sure all fields with an asterisk are completed. Readers and fellows must first click on the "Switch to Imaging Services request" link.

Switch to Imaging Services link.

5) Describe specific pages/items to be imaged in the "Imaging Request Details" field.

6) Select the desired format, shipping option and service level.

7) Complete the "Intended Use" section.

8) Click "Submit Request."

Rare collections with the status "RARE – PAGE AEON" and a finding aid may be requested for imaging through the Online Archive of California (OAC).

1) Create an online account through our online request system, Aeon. Remote researchers should select "Imaging Services" from the access type drop-down menu.

Registration

2) If you have found a collection in the online catalog with a finding aid, click "View finding aid and request materials."

View finding aid and request materials.

3) Review the available inventory or contents list.

4) Click on the "Request items ↗" button.

Request Items through the OAC.

5) Log in to your Aeon account when prompted.

6) Select a series from the contents list.

7) Click on the appropriate box to expand a list of folders/items.

8) Click the checkbox next to the folder/item you wish to request. Readers and fellows must first select "Request Photoduplication Order."

Select item and request photoduplication.

9) Describe specific pages/items to be imaged in the "Notes to Staff, Special Requests and Questions" field.

10) Select the desired format, shipping option and service level.

11) Complete the "Intended Use" section.

12) Click "Submit Request."

You may use a blank "New Imaging Services Request" form if you have a reference or citation that is not available in the library catalog. When using a blank request form, be sure to select the correct material type.

1) Create an online account through our online request system, Aeon. Off-site researchers should select "Imaging Services only" from the access type drop-down menu.

Imaging Services only

2) Log in to your Aeon account.

3) Click on "Manuscripts," "Rare Books" or "Visual Materials" depending on the material type you are requesting.

New Imaging Services Request

4) Fill out the form with the bibliographic details available to you. Make sure all fields with an asterisk are completed. If you do not know the details for those fields, enter "unknown" or "not applicable."

5) Describe the specific pages/items to be imaged in the "Imaging Request Details" field.

6) Select the desired format, shipping option and service level.

7) Complete the "Intended Use" section.

8) Click "Submit Request."

All images on the Huntington Digital Library (HDL) are free to download. Click the download button to the right of the image and select the desired image size from the drop-down menu.

Download images from the HDL.

You may also order higher quality reproductions of images on the HDL through Aeon.

1) Create an online account through our online request system, Aeon. Off-site researchers should select "Imaging Services only" from the access type drop-down menu.

Imaging Services only

2) Click the "Aeon Request" button on the right side of the page, then select "Request Image" from the drop-down menu.

Request Imaging Services through the HDL.

3) Log in to your Aeon account when prompted.

4) The Imaging Services request form should open in Aeon and auto-populate with information from the HDL image record.

5) Make sure all fields with an asterisk are completed. Carefully read over the request form to make sure bibliographic details are correct.

6) Select the desired format, shipping option and service level.

7) Complete the "Intended Use" section.

8) Click "Submit Request."

Fees, Payment and Delivery

A list of formatting options and a price list is available online.

Once an order is prepped for reproduction, you will receive an invoice notification email from Aeon with instructions for submitting payment through your account. Invoices can be reviewed and paid by logging into Aeon and clicking on "Invoices" from the Main Menu. See Payment Instructions for step-by-step details. Photography and/or scanning of your order will begin once payment is received.

Most orders are delivered electronically via WeTransfer, a free cloud-based file transfer service. Once your order is complete, you will receive two notification emails: one from Aeon indicating that your order has been completed, and a second from WeTransfer containing a link to download your order.

Payment Instructions

1) Log in to Aeon.

2) Click "Invoices" under "Imaging Services," located in the left sidebar menu.

Invoices

3) Click the checkbox next to the transaction number (TN).

4) Click the "Pay by Credit Card" button. You will be taken to a confirmation page where you will click "Pay Now" again.

Invoice Checkbox

5) You should then be directed to Authorize.net, the library's payment service provider, where you can safely enter payment details. You will receive an email receipt from Authorize.net soon after you submit payment.

Due to library closure, we are not able to accept payment by check.

We also accept payment by wire transfer. Please contact the library for details.

Track Your Order Status in Aeon

When logged in to Aeon, you can find a list of your outstanding requests on your account dashboard. Aeon tracks and updates the status of requests in real-time:

  • Awaiting Order Processing: Your order has been submitted for processing.
  • Awaiting Order Approval: The invoice for your order is ready for review and payment.
  • Payment Received: You have approved the invoice and paid by credit card online, or your wire transfer was received.
  • Awaiting Order Delivery: Your order is being processed by the Imaging Services Department. This includes photography and post-production editing.
  • Order Delivered: WeTransfer link download instructions have been emailed. Alternatively, your order has been mailed or shipped.