Library Resources

• Summon Discovery: Similar to a web search engine, Summon simultaneously searches the library's databases such as the library catalog, digital library, electronic journals and more.
• Library Catalog: Search the Huntington's library catalog for rare books, manuscripts, visual materials and more.
• Online Archive of California: Search hundreds of Huntington finding aids.
• Huntington Digital Library: Search over 250,000 images of library holdings with new content added regularly.
• California Revealed: Find selected audiovisual materials from The Huntington's archives.
• HathiTrust Digital Library: Open-access Huntington Library Press publications that are available to read and download through the HathiTrust Digital Library.

• Research Guides: Explore subject guides related to The Huntington's vast library collections.
• Library Collections: Information about The Huntington Library's collecting strengths and areas of specialization.

Published guides to four of the library's major collecting areas are freely available in the HathiTrust Digital Library:

• Guide to American Historical Manuscripts in the Huntington Library. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1979.
• Guide to British Historical Manuscripts in the Huntington Library. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1982.
• Guide to Literary Manuscripts in the Huntington Library. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1979.
• Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts in the Huntington Library. Compiled by C.W. Dutschke et al. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1989.

Readers and fellows have access to over 170 databases through their My Library account. Databases offer a variety of sources for research in the humanities. Most are subscription databases; therefore, an active reader's card at The Huntington is required. The majority of our subscriptions are accessible off-site. Find a full list of databases on our A-Z Database page.

Over 4,000 electronic journals, or e-journals, are available in our A-Z Titles list. Readers and fellows may browse our journals according to title, or conduct a search. You will be prompted to log into your My Library account to access these subscriptions.

Stream recorded library programs and learn about upcoming events.