Research Guides: Huntington Incunabula in the Digital Era: Welcome

This resource serves as a companion research guide to the virtual event "Huntington Incunabula in the Digital Era," which aired on May 13th, 2020. In this presentation, Huntington staff members discussed how incunabula came to be in The Huntington's collections, the various tools used for the study of medical incunables and our efforts to digitize these materials. We invite you to stream a recorded version of the event and explore related digital resources listed below.

Further questions about research, accessing materials, or navigating digital resources can be directed to the library.

Related Resources

Digitized Huntington Library Materials:

History of Medicine and Allied Sciences on the Huntington Digital Library
Materials from The Huntington's larger holdings of printed materials and manuscripts. Highlights include astrological miscellanies and medical recipe books from the Middle Ages, in addition to selected rare books and broadsides from The Huntington's collection of medical incunabula—the largest outside of Europe and the United Kingdom.

Digitized History of Medicine Materials:
Explore freely accessible digitized history of medicine resources that were highlighted during our presentation.

Facendo il Libro: The Making of Fasciculus Medicinae, an Early Printed Anatomy
An online exhibit created by the New York Academy of Medicine.
Herman Ralph Mead. (1931). Huntington Library Collections. "Incunabula Medica in the Huntington Library," (1), 107-151
Available online via JSTOR.
N.B. subscription databases are only available to registered readers.
John Stockton Hough, "Incunabula Medica, Prodromus Bibliographicus"
Trenton, 1890
Ludwig Choulant, "Handbuch der Bücherkunde für die ältere Medicin"
Leipzig: Verlag von Leopold Voss, 1841
Ludwig Choulant, "History and Bibliography of Anatomic Illustration"
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1920
Sir William Osler, "Incunabula medica; a study of the earliest printed medical books, 1467-1480"
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1923

Databases:

Material Evidence in Incunabula (MEI)
Gives extremely detailed copy-specific information on selected incunabula throughout North America and Europe. Its Huntington records can be located by searching our name.
Huntington Library Databases
Access databases related to the history of science, medicine and technology and early printed books and printing history. Subscription databases can only be accessed by registered readers. Contact the library for more information.

More information about the International Image Interoperability Framework (IIIF):

Bibliographical Society of America IIIF tutorials
Three workshops designed to provide a gentle introduction to working with IIIF and Mirador for book historians.
Biblissima Listing of IIIF-compliant collections
This prototype application allows you to search across IIIF-compliant manuscripts and rare books dated before 1800 from many digital libraries in the world.

Related Research Guides

Incunabula
A guide to The Huntington's books printed before 1501.
History of Medicine
A guide to The Huntington's collections in the history of medicine, including medieval and early modern medical treaties, recipe books, astrological and alchemical works.