This portion of the guide is related to the physical materials cataloged and held by The Huntington Library. For more information on the Library of Virginia's holdings, please see the Library of Virgina Microfilm section.
The collection has been arranged in the following manner:
Sub-Collections: (Boxes 1-255)
Miscellaneous File (Boxes 256-306)
R. A. Brock Correspondence (Boxes 307-387)
Miscellaneous/Uncatalogued Manuscripts (Boxes 388-397)
Volumes and Oversize (BR 1-)
More information about each series can be found below. For a more detailed description of the materials in each series, see the finding aid.
To request materials to the reading room, please follow the steps listed in our How to Use Aeon guide, under the "Finding Aid" tab.
The bulk of the collection (mssBR Boxes 1-255) is comprised of 132 boxed sub-collections of families, individuals, government entities, corporate commercial, religious, political, charitable, literary, historical, genealogical, and heritage institutions. Each sub-collection is arranged chronologically. There are also artificial subject or topical collections. From the years 2000-2003, the sub-collections were cataloged as part of a retrospective conversion project, and the records were entered in the library catalog.
The Miscellaneous File (mssBR Boxes 256-306) is arranged chronologically. For more detailed information about the contents, see the finding aid or the Library of Virgina database.
R.A. Brock’s personal and professional correspondence contains letters that cover his tenure at the Virginia and Southern Historical societies as well as his involvement with other boards and associations. Also included are materials generated through his work researching family histories. The correspondence is arranged alphabetically by the author and the call numbers range from mssBR Box 307 to mssBR Box 397. More detailed information can be found in the finding aid.
Miscellaneous Manuscripts are bound stand-alone pieces acquired by Brock at separate occasions, although some appear to have been parts of the personal and family sub-collections. The Miscellaneous Manuscripts are arranged by call number in the finding aid.
For most manuscripts, there are records in the Library of Virginia catalog. The Library of Virginia has been entering cataloging records for the parts of the collection covered by the Huntington’s retrospective conversion project.
Volumes and oversize materials are comprised of approximately 443 volumes and 38 oversize folders.
The volumes are mostly:
Although the finding aid provides a preliminary list of the loose volumes and maps within the collection, it is not exhaustive. Additionally, call numbers BR 208-441 were not used.