Research Guides: Positively One of a Kind: the Creation and Care of Daguerreotypes: Welcome

Edgar Allan Poe

William A. Pratt, photographer.
Approximately 1849.

John B. Colton

Unknown photographer.
Approximately 1850s.

Mining Scene.

Unknown photographer.
Approximately 1849.

Portrait of a woman and a young girl.

Unknown photographer.
Approximately 1840s-1850s.

Group portrait of Huntington Library employees.

Robert Shlaer, photographer.
January 27, 2003.

This resource is a companion research guide to the virtual event "Positively One of a Kind: the Creation and Care of Daguerreotypes," aired on July 26, 2023. In this presentation, library staff members discussed the stewardship of the Huntington's daguerreotype collection, including the acquisition, cataloging, preservation, and digitization of these early photographs. We invite you to stream the recorded event and explore the related digital resources listed below.

Further questions about research, accessing materials, or navigating digital resources can be directed to the library.

Related Resources

Huntington Library materials:

Collection of cased photographs and related images
A collection of chiefly 19th-century photographs mounted in their original cases, mostly portraits with some outdoor views and related images in other formats.
Photographs in Huntington Digital Library (HDL)
A selection of daguerreotypes from the Huntington’s collections, including examples from the earliest history of photography to the present.
Lisa See Collection
Photographs of Los Angeles' Old Chinatown and portraits of its residents, most dating from the 1890s to the 1900s.

Preservation Guides:

How to Care for a Photograph
Published by the American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (AIC), this guide provides helpful tips on caring for your daguerreotypes and other photographic treasures at home.
Glossary of Terms
A glossary of terms used by the Library of Congress to preserve elements of daguerreotypes.
Graphics Atlas
A resource for object-based identification and characterization of prints and photographs.
Preservation Self Assessment Program
An online tool that helps collection managers prioritize efforts to improve the conditions of collections or cultural heritage objects, including daguerreotypes.

Fine Artworks:

Binh Danh
Explore the artwork of Binh Danh, whose Yosemite daguerreotypes were recently acquired by the Huntington Library.
Robert Shlaer
Read Columbia College's profile on alum Robert Shlaer, which includes a gallery of the photographer's images.