Hong Buildings at New Chinatown.
Hong family papers, 1764-2006 (bulk 1906-2006).
Y. C. Hong reading a book at his desk.
Hong family papers, 1764-2006 (bulk 1906-2006).
Y. C. Hong's office.
Hong family papers, 1764-2006 (bulk 1906-2006).
Y. C. Hong's office.
Hong family papers, 1764-2006 (bulk 1906-2006).
You Chung Hong legal papers, 1904-1965 (bulk 1928-1960)
This collection contains more than 7,300 Chinese immigration cases created or represented by You Chung Hong (1898-1977), a lawyer based in Los Angeles, California. The immigration cases range from 1904 to 1965 (some earlier cases were inherited from other lawyers). Most of the cases involve sons and wives of Chinese Americans and Chinese merchants. Following regulations used by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), immigration cases that are more than 75 years old are generally open for research. Those less than 75 years old may be subject to attorney-client confidentiality, with some possible exceptions. Please contact the curator for approval.
Call number: mssHong
Kenneth Y. Fung papers, 1910s-1950s
Kenneth Y. Fung is an immigration attorney based in San Francisco, California, from the 1930s to the 1950s. This small collection contains both personal and professional papers, including correspondence, immigration case files, notebooks, and photographs. Fung and You Chung Hong collaborated on a number of immigration cases and matters concerning the Chinese American Citizens Alliance.
Call number: mssFung
Law Offices of Chow and Sing records, approximately 1949-1988
Established in 1949 in San Francisco, California, Chow and Sing is an immigration law office founded by William Jack Chow and Jack Wong Sing. This collection contains more than 5,000 (estimated) immigration case files created starting in 1949. Following regulations used by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), immigration cases that are less than 75 years old are generally closed to research. This collection is uncataloged and currently unavailable to researchers.
Call number: mss [UNCATALOGED]
Tsute and Lucy Yang papers, 1930s-2020
This collection documents the lives of Tsute Yang, his wife Lucy Yang, and their son Lawrence Yang. Most of the collection centers around the early life of Tsute Yang who was born in Yangzhou, China. The collection contains decades of correspondence (in Chinese language) written by Tsute Yang to his wife starting in the 1940s. He wrote in detail about his experience as an immigrant in the United States, his impression of the United States as he studied and taught in many cities, his financial hardship as a poor graduate student, and his struggle with American immigration authorities during the Chinese Exclusion era (before the 1965 immigration reform). This collection is uncataloged and currently unavailable to researchers.
Call number: mss [UNCATALOGED]