Skip to main content

Reader Accounts

Information on the library's Aeon and My Library accounts.

With My Library, registered readers can:

  • Track and manage their circulation history for The Huntington's general collections, which consist of secondary sources such as printed and published books, journals and magazines.
  • Access hundreds of subscription databases and electronic journals.
  • Generate a record of general collections titles consulted while working at The Huntington.
  • Save library catalog searches.
  • Build thematic lists of material relevant to their research.

Visit our FAQs page for answers to frequently asked questions about My Library. If you need further assistance, please contact the library.

Setup Your My Library Account

1) Visit the My Library page.

2) Enter your username and leave the PIN field blank.

My Library Login page.

3) Click "Submit" when ready.

4) Create a PIN when prompted on the next screen.

NB: Your username is identical to your Aeon username. Your PIN can be between 4-15 characters (alpha or numeric) and cannot contain special characters.

1) Visit the My Library page.

2) Enter your username and password.

3) Click on "Submit."

My Library login page.

N.B. We recommend logging in to your account before beginning a search. Doing so allows you to track your searches and save records.

To protect your privacy, The Huntington Library does not automatically save your general collections checkout history. To track your book checkouts or export records using ProCite, EndNotes, or RefWorks, you must opt-in to save your reading history. Although Step 3 is optional for My Library account setup, it is recommended.

For full details on the opt-in feature, see Reading History below.

Please visit our Privacy page to learn more about the library's policy.

Navigating Your Account

The library catalog does not automatically keep a record of your general collections checkout history to safeguard your privacy. The opt-in feature of your My Library account is entirely optional. You're welcome to continue to opt-out, but note that Reading Services will be unable to retrieve your reading history. If you would like to maintain a record of books checkouts:

1) Log in to your My Library account.

2) Select "Reading History" from the menu located on the left side of the page.
Reading History in the My Library account menu.

3) Click on "Opt-In" to start recording your reading history.
Opt-in from your My Library account Reading History option.

N.B. You may opt-out at any time to delete the record of your reading history.

My Library is configured to default to your general collections checkouts list after login. If you have placed a recall request for a general collection item(s), that item will appear by default instead.

Book checkouts list.

When searching the catalog, you can request a book by recall for materials with the status "Checked Out." Our staff will borrow the book from the library user and lend it to you for seven days. Once you have finished using the book, place it on a return cart. To initiate a recall request:

1) Log in to your My Library account.

2) Visit the library catalog record for the item you want to check out.

3) Click on the "Request" button, located above the description of the item.

Recall notice in the library catalog.
4) On the next page, confirm the details of the recall request and click on "Request Selected Item."

Item Selection form for recall requests.

The "My Lists" feature allows you to create lists of library catalog records for later review. You can sort your lists, request titles, export records, delete entries, rename lists and move records between lists. You may also thematically group material from the general collections and rare collections together.

Save a single record to a list:

1) Log in to your My Library account and begin a library catalog search.

2) Open an item record and click on "Add to My List."

Add to My List from the library catalog record
3) Select a list or create a new one, then click "Submit" to save the record.

Save multiple records at once:

1) While logged into your My Library account, conduct a library catalog search.

2) From the search results page, click on the checkboxes next to the records you wish to save.

3) Open the dropdown menu labeled "Select a list." 
Add to My List from the search results page.

4) Make a list selection or create a new one, and click on "Add Marked to My Lists."

Store "Preferred Searches" to revisit later. Searches will group in your account by the type of search (e.g., keyword search, subject search, etc.).

Save a preferred search:

1) Log in to your My Library account and select a search option from the menu on the far left of the page.

2) Conduct a search in the library catalog.

3) When results are displayed, click on "Save as Preferred Search" on the right side of the page.
Preferred Searches in the library catalog.

Recreate a preferred search:

1) Revisit your My Library account and select "Preferred Searches" from the menu options.

2) From your list, click on the "Search" hyperlink to repeat a saved preferred search.
Repeat a preferred search from your saved searches list.

The due date for your general collections checkouts is the same as the expiration date of your reader's card. To renew your books:

1) Log in to My Library account.

2) Select "Items currently checked out" from the menu located on the left side of the page.

3) Click on the checkbox next to the items you want to renew and select "Renew Marked Items."
Renew marked books in My Library.

4) Alternatively, to renew all of your checkouts, click on "Renew All."

5) Confirm your renewals by selecting "Yes" or "No."
Confirm renewals in My Library.

6) When your renewals are successful, a new due date will appear in the STATUS column of your list.
Successful status of book renewals in My Library.

N.B. If the materials cannot be renewed, you will see the message, "Not all renewals were successful." Details will be listed in the STATUS column. Please contact the library if you have questions or concerns about renewing books.

You must be logged in to My Library account to export records from My Lists, Reading History, or saved records from the library catalog. You may choose the file format and export option.
Export options in My Library.

Export My Lists

1) Open the list you wish to export.

2) Click on "Export My List" from your table options.

3) Select the file format and export option.

4) Click on "Submit" to complete the export.

Export Saved Marked Records

1) While browsing the library catalog, select records for saving by clicking on the checkbox next to the title, and "Save Marked Records."

2) Click on "View Marked Records."

4) Select the file format and export option.

5) Click on "Submit" to complete the export.

Export Reading History

1) Open your reading history.

2) Click on "Export My Reading List" from your table options.

3) Select the file format and export option.

4) Click on "Submit" to complete the export.

E-Z Proxy Login

Whether you're on campus or working remotely, your My Library account credentials provide access to The Huntington's subscription databases and electronic journals. You will be prompted to log into your account when attempting to access a subscription or electronic journal.

Suggest Library Purchases

Your My Library account allows instant access to the form Suggest Library Books for Purchase. The link can also be found on the left-hand navigation bar of the library catalog.

To suggest a purchase, you must be logged into your account. Submitted suggestions are reviewed by our Acquisitions, Cataloging and Metadata department.

The Suggest a Purchase form in My Library Account.