Skip to main content

Library at Home

Learn more about The Huntington Library's online resources and virtual library services.
Library at Home

Research Guides

Explore subject guides related to The Huntington's vast library collections.

Rothenberg

Library Services

Learn about virtual library services such as reproduction requests, interlibrary loan and reference assistance.

Huntington Digital Library

Provides free, public access to a selection of materials digitized from the Huntington Library collections. 

Newspaper Collections Research Guide

Discover how to access digital newspapers remotely.

Announcements

Although the library is closed, library staff are working remotely to assist you with your research. Learn more about upcoming virtual events and new digital resources:


From Parchment to Pixel: Conservation and Digitization of Illuminated Manuscripts - Zoom Lecture
Wed., Aug. 19, 2020 | 10 a.m.–11 a.m.

In 1567, William Bowyer, Keeper of the Records in the Tower of London, created a lavishly illuminated manuscript for Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester. This manuscript has been among the most studied volumes since Henry Huntington acquired it in 1912. Our program follows this single manuscript as it travels from curator to conservator to digitization team, who all work together to transform a 16th-century manuscript into a 21st-century digital tool. This event is part of an ongoing webinar series presented by the Library's Reader Services Department.

Register for this virtual lecture.


We're Here to Help

Contact the library for assistance with your research or to inquire about library services. We're not in the building with our physical collections, but we are more than happy to assist with research that can be done online. 


Newly Published Finding Aids
Explore digital finding aids we've published this year:

Jay T. Last collection of entertainment: Schaefer's Opera House business correspondence

Thomas Hastie Bell correspondence

Aerospace oral history project

Lawrence D. Longo invoices and subject files

Warren D. Chase papers​

Paul Theroux papers

Francis Marion Crawford papers

Browse additional finding aids for Huntington collections online via the Online Archive of California (OAC).


Recently Digitized Collections

The Huntington Digital Library provides free, public access to a selection of materials digitized from the Huntington Library collections. Though only a fraction of the Huntington’s diverse holdings are represented, content is regularly added to the Digital Library. Recent highlights include:

Drafts of Henry David Thoreau's "Walden"

Cartographic materials from the Kashnor Collection of Early American Maps

Rare medical books from the 15th and 16th centuries.